Table Top Gaming.

projectlongstreet

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am new the boards here but I thought I would contribute right away. I thought it would be fun to discuss some table top RPGs, favorite characters, favorite systems and things of that nature. I have been playing D&D and similar games for nearly twelve years now and have compiled quite a few stories, characters, and systems played.

The group I normally played with has been a system called Savage Worlds for the better portion of the past five to six years now. It has, by far, been our favorite system to play. There is only a single book needed to play a base game of just about any genre, which is nice. There are then multiple supplement books which are more genre specific and have more options for playing in that specific setting.

I have not yet gotten around to playing 4th edition D&D. Has anybody had a chance to play it, and if so what are some of the good and bad qualities to it?

Kelmourne

The Savage Hippy
Reaction score
A Pirate city in international cyberspace
I haven't played it, but I hear 4th edition D&D is alot more like WoW, in the sense that more abilities are combat oriented, the wizard gets less utility spells, and there is generally a lesser focus on role playing and more of a focus on killing things.

All in all, most people prefer version 3.5

OP
P

projectlongstreet

Reaction score
That is the version I most preferred to play, but the problem I ran into and will more than likely run into again is the fact that we had a hodge podge of 3.0 and 3.5 books mixed together. The slight tweaks in the feats, and classes usually ended up giving us issues depending on what book the person had at one time or another.

JIM

zombie Turncoat
Reaction score
ive played D&D from 1st edition all the way thru to 4th (realms, dark sun, greyhawk, dragonlance, planescape, ravenloft)
warhammer,
warhammer 40k
battletech
shadowrun
twilight 2000
ninja turtles
middle earth

OP
P

projectlongstreet