New to Fantasy... What to read next?

robbyras

Reaction score
So, I'm pretty new to the genre...

I've read Song of Fire and Ice and have been patiently waiting for Dance with Dragons... in the meantime I read the Dark Tower series and the Harry Potter series, which I am about 200 pages from finishing...

Other than that I've read The Circle Trilogy by Dekker and enjoyed it... I know it's not fantasy, but it fits in there somewhere... I also started reading The Blade Itself but didn't get through it... It's a fine book and I will revisit it, but it's not what I wanted at the time... I also devoured The Left Hand of God... I completely enjoyed that book and can't wait for the next installment (I broke my own rule - see below)

I'm looking for something in the style of Song of Fire and Ice... something expansive like that... but, I want the series be either be completed already or close to completion...Mr. Martin has turned me off of starting a series before it is close to completion...

Here are some things I am considering:
Dune
Wheel of Time
Malazan Book of the Fallen
Mistborn Series
The Once and Future King (I know it's not a series, but I could go for a good single book)
The King Raven Trilogy

Thanks for taking the time to read through my post and give me some feedback...

freedomtaken

Predominately Inept
Reaction score
Mistborn is devine.

Try "The Name of the Wind" by Patrick Ru somethig. David Eddings is also recommended, although try the Sparhawk series first. It might just be me, but I couldn't stand the Belgariad and the like.

OP
R

robbyras

Reaction score
That's Patrick Rothfuss. It's on my "Read Next" list.

Yeah, I have a copy of that, but I'm waiting for the third book to come out...

I think I may go with Mistborn

Overread

Wolfing it up!
Staff member
Reaction score
Malazan Book of the Fallen is a very good companion to ASOIAF - and its mostly (if not totally I've not checked recently) finished.