What's your PC?

Discussion in 'General Computers' started by Jessehk, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. Alchemist

    Alchemist The Fighters Guide House Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    A Pirate city in international waters
    Ratings:
    +192 / 0 / -0
    Just recently got my new laptop in...not having a computer the past couple of months was not fun.

    HP Pavilion dv7
    540G HDD
    Intel Core i7 CPU Q 720 @ 1.60GHz, 1600 Mhz, 4 Core, 8 Logical Processor
    6.00 GB RAM
    1G ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
    17.5in Screen

    I think that's all the important bits...I like it. Just got it last Friday. Still installing stuff from my old external hard drive.
     
  2. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,781
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +188 / 0 / -0
    That is a pretty sexy piece of hardware, Alchy.

    17,5", though... that's a laptop which isn't going anywhere anytime soon...
     
  3. ~Elladan~

    ~Elladan~ A Elbereth Gilthoniel

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +224 / 0 / -0
    I received my new laptop (Sony VPCF13Z1E/B) this week too...

    Intel i7-740QM Processor / 1.73 GHz (2.93 Burst)
    8Gb DDR3 SDRAM
    500Gb SATA 7200rpm
    Blu-ray Drive
    16.4" Full HD (1920 x 1080) screen
    I Gb NVIDIA GeForce 425M GPU

    It's soooo cool and fast :)
     
  4. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,136
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    Your laptop has an i7 and 8 gigs of RAM?

    What the hell!? How much was it?

    I need to upg my CPU to a quad-core. I blame Black Ops for this. Treyarch in their infinite stupidity have put so much demand on the cpu that only quad's can really play it properly.

    I did buy a PC over the summer for fairly cheap. For £250 I got this:

    CPU - AMD Athlon X2 5000+ 2.60GHz
    RAM - 2GB DDR2 800MHz
    Hard Drive - 250GB SATA Hard Drive
    Graphics Card - ATI Radeon HD 5570 1GB
    Motherboard - Asus M2N68-AM SE2 Motherboard
    Sound - 5.1 Channel Sound (On-Board)
    Optical Drive - 22x DVD+/-RW
    Power Supply - 450W Generic

    Running Win7 64bit on it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  5. ~Elladan~

    ~Elladan~ A Elbereth Gilthoniel

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +224 / 0 / -0
    lol... it was just under £1600 but as I'm VAT registered and have my own business I can get the VAT back and apply capital allowances (ie offset cost against taxable income). Once part private usage is taken into account it'll end up costing me £7-800ish
     
  6. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,781
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +188 / 0 / -0
    @Ella: that's a lot of grunt from something that's supposed to sit on your lap. What Met said ^^

    @Met: That's a pretty nice setup in the price/performance area. Not sure how BlackOps is running, but check your memory before investing in a new processor. If you're above 90% memory used when playing, it's probably your current bottleneck. 2GB is minimum spec, so it might be tight, especially considering you're running Win7.
     
  7. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,136
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    Turam. I've been scouring the internets as have a few of my friends and it actually is a matter of cpu usage due to so much demand.
     
  8. Blackness

    Blackness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +145 / 0 / -0
    Well this is my new comp I'll build next month since I got extra moniez o_O I'm upgrading from a single core celeron 2.6ghz :D

    Intel i5 760, 2.8GHz (overclocked to 4.0GHz)

    2x Sapphire HD 6870, 1GB GDDR5 256bit in CrossFire (I would've taken the msi twin frozr models but I hate pci-x)

    DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair, 1600Hz

    HDD Seagate 1.5 Tb Barracuda 7200.11

    and the case is love :cool:
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Liadan

    Liadan Insert Title Here

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +124 / 0 / -0
    Welp, took the plunge, buying a new computer (I don't have it yet).

    Processor - AMD Phenom II X4 970 (3.5GHz) AM3
    GFX Card: 2 Sapphire 6850s
    RAM: 8g
    HD: 1TB, 7200rpm
     
  10. 3rdProphecy

    3rdProphecy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I have a:

    AMD Phenom II x6 (3.2GHz) black edition
    With 8GB RAM DDR 3
    1 TB hard drive.
    1 GB DDR 3 Nvidia Qaudro workstation card.
    24' LG LCD display.

    and for my back-up PC:

    AMD Phenom x4 (3.2GHz) black edition
    With 8GB RAM DDR 2
    2 x 1 TB sata hard drive.
    512 GB DDR 2 ATI Radeon 4600 card.
    2 x 19' LG LCD displays in a dual screen system.
     
  11. Quengil

    Quengil Warlock

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    AMD Athlon II 3.01 GHz
    4GB RAM
    ATI Radeon 4670 HD
    1 TB Hard Drive

    (21.5" LG LED HD Screen)
    (Logitech X-530 5.1 Sound)

    ... and a $50 gaming keyboard with an obscene amount of buttons. :D
     
  12. ciemnika

    ciemnika New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NY
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Current PC is as follows:

    • Cooler Master CM690 II case
    • ASUS P8/P67 rev 3 motherboard
    • Intel i7 2600K at 4.5GHz
    • Zalman 120mm HSF
    • 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1866 RAM
    • EVGA GTX-570 Superclock GPU x 2 in SLI
    • 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 7200RPM hard drive
    • Samsung Bluray writer
    • 24" ASUS 1080p monitor x 2
    • Razer DeathAdder mouse
    • Razer Black Widow Ultimate keyboard
    • M-Audio AV40 speaker system
    • Logitech USB desk mic
    • Turtle Beach HPA-2 headset
     
  13. Druid of Lûhn

    Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,088
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    iMac OSX 10.6.7 (Snow Leopard)
    2.66 GHz Dual Intel 2 Core Duo
    2 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    6 MB L2 Cache
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro
     
  14. Druid of Lûhn

    Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,088
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    Posting now that I got my new computer (August)

    MacBook Pro 13" 2011
    2.7 GHz Intel Core 17
    4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    but sadly only an Intel HD 3000 graphics card
    500 GB Hard Drive
     
  15. anonymous

    anonymous the king

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Riga, latvia
    Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3
    Acer 7750G high end (2011)
    I5 2.3Ghz (sandybrigde) trubo
    Radeon HD 6850M
    4Gb RAM
    1000GB
     
  16. Druid of Lûhn

    Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,088
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    Desktop?
    My i7 is also sandybridge.
     
  17. Druid of Lûhn

    Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,088
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    Desktop?
    My i7s are also sandybridge.
     
  18. anonymous

    anonymous the king

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Riga, latvia
    Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3
    yeah laptop, yeah mine is kind of for games :)
    if i had a lil bit more money, I would have bought i7
     
  19. Druid of Lûhn

    Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    7,088
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    i5 or i7 don't change much at all for gaming. It's the graphics card that does it all, and mine is awful. Luckily we have another one with a better graphics card (se earlier post) for that.
     
  20. anonymous

    anonymous the king

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Riga, latvia
    Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3
    yeah, i know, but anyways, i7 has a better chipset :p and bigger cache memory, and yeah