What type of leather should I use?

Discussion in 'Historical Re-enactment' started by Gavaha, Nov 19, 2003.

1. Gavaha

Gavaha Art House Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I would like to do a Elven Warrior type armor, but not with the metal middle. Just some hard leather. Any tips on kinds, places to get? (I am a newbie on leathermaking if you can't tell yet)

2. MacDhai

MacDhai New Member

Iowa... land of corn, corn, corn, corn, corn, corn
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Lot's of places to get the leather from... luckily for me I've got a "The Leather Factory" close by (well, couple of hours away, but beats mail order)... They've got web-sites and they're nation wide... Good selection, reasonable prices... everything you need...

The armour you're making... "functional" or just show??

Functional, I'd go some moderately thick stuff... (lousy with leather gaging...) 1/4" or so would do the trick...

Show, go with some lighter stuff... something under 1/4", deer skin would do, but if you want to do any tooling on it, go for thicker-belt weight leather.

Ideas for your armour?? Again, is it functional or show...

M
    (aka Ld. Robert Davidson, called the Bastard,
    Mercenary and Leather crafter for the Shire of Heraldshill,
    Kingdom of Calontir)

3. Gavaha

Gavaha Art House Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I would be making a functional one

4. Gavaha

Gavaha Art House Member

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    anyone know any good sites for leather? Particulary cowhide?

5. waenlotien

waenlotien Healer/ Magicuser

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
  6. Christophe of Grey

Christophe of Grey Cordwainer to Royals

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Gavaha,