What programs do you use for graphic creation?

Discussion in 'User Created Art' started by Kenshin, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. Kenshin

    Kenshin Drifter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    I was curious as to know what everyone here uses. I unfortunatley dont have any programs of the sort. I have paint. Thats it. I DO have a program called photo impression 5, but it came with my printer,so i dont know if it would work.
     
  2. Ringquelle

    Ringquelle Graveyard Faerie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On the South Pole, importing chickens and building
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    I mainly use Photoshop CS 2, works like a charm. A program I used earlier is called "Neopaint", and sometimes I find myself using it again, because it has a a few usefull options which Photoshop hasn't got. Neopaint hasn't got layers or anything like it though.
     
  3. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    Ring: You probably haven't found how to get those options yet ;) :p

    I use Photoshop 7. I have CS2 but I need to crack it.
     
  4. Ringquelle

    Ringquelle Graveyard Faerie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On the South Pole, importing chickens and building
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    When you cut something, an option "Paste as new Image"?
     
  5. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    What are you looking for? That sentence makes no sense to me stand alone >_<

    If I am thinking correctly. Then once you cut it, you should be able to move that image to a new layer/copy it.
     
  6. Ringquelle

    Ringquelle Graveyard Faerie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On the South Pole, importing chickens and building
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Neopaint has an option so that once you cut something you can immediately paste it as a new image file. Quite usefull sometimes, especially if you want to do something quickly.
     
  7. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    It saves all of half-a-min from the sounds of things. Plus if that's the only real advantage...I'd stick with PS :O (but that's just me)
     
  8. Ringquelle

    Ringquelle Graveyard Faerie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On the South Pole, importing chickens and building
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    Neopaint is just for some fast things like that... and some basic editting. It is, however, a whole lot faster. PS take 3 minutes to start, and I can't keep it open, or else all my programs will be very slow... so in that case Neopaint is quite usefull.
     
  9. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    Yea you need lots of RAM for PS to run well...hence the only good reason possible to ever buy a MAC...it's devoted to running stuff like PS lawl
     
  10. Kaelmarr

    Kaelmarr Back | Valar Morghulis

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0 / -0
    The only good reason =P.

    I have photoshop 7, but I also have 3GB of RAM, so it runs fast.
     
  11. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    That what I said....only good reason :S
     
  12. Padmé

    Padmé Mrs Cascador

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Depends
    Ratings:
    +205 / 0 / -0
    Anakin and I use Photoshop CS2, for me it's pretty easy to use, even in Dutch lol
     
  13. Kakashi

    Kakashi The Fighters Guide House Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    15,018
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the hearts and minds of us all
    Ratings:
    +306 / 0 / -0
    i'm really interested in getting Photoshop, but for now i have to be happy with my awesome Paint skillz.