What drives you to write?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Herickson, May 20, 2011.

1. Herickson

Herickson New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So, this is a strange question, what was the journey that you undertook to become a writer and an artist? How did you come to realize "Hey, I am a writer, I am an artist." It took me quite a while to accept myself as an artist and then later I was able to start gaining the confidence to write. This took me quite a while and so I would like to hear the stories that our writer friends have experienced as well.

A little about myself, since I believe it is appropriate that I start off the conversation with my own experience. I went to an art school, being around other artists at first was pretty daunting, especially since their stuff was plain better than mine, but I was a freshmen and they not only encouraged me, but helped me to improve. This was extremely important, since it inspired confidence and pushed me to succeed.

Strange, but it helped me to get to that point where I said, I might be able to do this.

Another thing that helped is that a friend of mine is a well known writer. She has a book deal and the works. Listening to her story was fun and gave me a place to start. This is not some realistic dream of mine, but a possible thing that could happen.

A couple months later, I published my book. :)

2. Greybeard

Greybeard Geezer

Ratings:
    +58 / 0 / -0
    I was young, twelve or thirteen, and an just starting to read adult books regularly. Early in Edgar Rice Burroughs's Pirates of Venus I came across this paragraph: