Understanding Why my Book Crashed and Burned

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Richard Falken, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Richard Falken

Richard Falken The Best Epic Literature Ever Written.

Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    The Flaming Wrath of Árelor, a book on which I have been working since 2008, was expected to be re-released this month as part of our marketing strategy. As most of my English speaking fans already know, the novel has gotten zero impact in practical terms. A poor marketing plan and a clumsy product presentation were considered to be at fault.

I recently got an email from Route 11 in which the chief publisher declared that they are not going to relaunch the book, nor take further actions for promoting it, until I have another novel to sell. We have talked about releasing a new title and using The Flaming Wrath of Árelor as a free hook for sucking readers into the new publication. In short, the publisher thinks The Flaming Wrath of Árelor is not able to stand by itself and it is worth nothing from the commertial point of view, out of being a support item for a real product.

Truth to be told, this seems to be the end of the road. I might soon follow up with an article detailing the economics of being a writer. Suffices to say that writting a book in Spanish and then translating it to English, while ensuring a high enough quality for the readers, is a daunting, expensive and time consuming task. You don't create a firm lightly, you don't publish a quality book lightly. Hence, the mere notion that I am expected to go over that work once again, knowing that the probabilities of doing better than with the first book, feels absurd. Which of course implies there is going to be no second book in the short term and no revival for The Flaming Wrath of Árelor on the horizon.

I should carefully consider what has leaded me to this situation.