Thoughts on Boromir

Discussion in 'Debates' started by Dark Lion, Apr 13, 2010.

1. Dark Lion

Dark Lion New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I'm new to discussion forums, so if this thread has already been posted and debated I'm sorry for starting another

My thoughts on Boromir is this: I feel he gets a bad rap. I know he tried to take the Ring, and that it was out of his own desire for glory. He wanted to return to Gondor the conquering hero. Boromir was the personification of the race of Men in many ways. But I feel his heart was good. He loved his city and its people, and he wanted to end Sauron's evil. Yes he was weak, his brother was the better man, but his motivation was overall just IMO. But I liked Boromir, he was a proud warrior with a strong sense of justice, I would have fought at his side.

Agree or disagree? Please share your thoughts...

2. Prince_Kheldar

Prince_Kheldar Beard Lover

Ratings:
    +36 / 1 / -0
    I like Boromir too. As you say, he desired glory. He wanted to return the hero. Faramir was the better man. But I don't think glory was the only thing that made him do what he did.

Boromir was a Man, and men are the weakest race in Middle Earth, as the ring wraiths are examples of. I reckon the Ring is to blame, at least partially. It wasn't all glory.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
  3. Dark Lion

Dark Lion New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I agree totally. He was the perfect example of the race of Men, valiant yet easily corrupted . I liked Boromir, but yes Faramir was the better man in just about every way. But I didn't like how the movies portrayed either that much

4. DarkGriffo

DarkGriffo New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0