The Disciple of Cardonn

Discussion in 'User Created Art' started by Keyser Sushi, Dec 29, 2010.

1. Keyser Sushi

Keyser Sushi Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This is a piece I did as sort of a "cover" for my novel.

Obviously if I get published they'll want to make their own cover, but I studied art in college and sometimes I like to make art that connects to what I write. I've done a lot of design work for the Oz movie I'm working on, too.

Anyway this is a sample of my art. It's pencil and photoshop.

[​IMG]

2. Kakashi

Kakashi The Fighters Guide House Member

Ratings:
    +306 / 0 / -0
    This is really good! I've seen cover art on actual books that is much worse than this :D

are you saying you just did a pencil outline and colored it in photoshop? or did you use colored pencils? (i'm an artistic noob so excuse me for having to ask :D)

3. Keyser Sushi

Keyser Sushi Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ha, thanks! :)

It was a little more than a pencil outline, but basically, yes. Basic graphite pencil, minimal shading. In fact each character was drawn separately, then scanned and colored in photoshop, then composited together. The forest backround and the sewer tunnel the guy in the cloak is standing in are manipulated photographs.

I have more art that I did while working on this book, and not all of it is this good. Early on I drew the characters in a sort of anime or manga style, but I got away from that, thankfully. Also some of the art I can't post here because the Amazon's mode of dress isn't always kid-friendly. :-o

4. rosa

rosa New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Nice art work! =D

the discipline of cardonn sounds as a interisting title... sorry if you already posted this somewhere else and i didnt see, but ... what is you book about? well... i mean, if you can talk about it, if you are getting published and must not do so then just ignore me!

5. Keyser Sushi

Keyser Sushi Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0