Starting Point Question

Discussion in 'Historical Re-enactment' started by Calarustithil, Jan 5, 2004.

1. Calarustithil

Calarustithil Smith of Gondolin

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello, I am a newb...
    I am interested in starting some leather projects and I want to be able to do some a little embossing and tooling and I was wondering if anyone could give me some links to instructional sites or starting point types. I would like to make som Boromir style vambraces with the wing style pattern. [​IMG]

Thanks,
    Calarustithil

2. Gûd Daedheloth

Gûd Daedheloth Foe of Morgoth's Realm

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I'm hopefully going to be making some Boromir bracers soon. I'll tell you how it goes and give any advice I can after I'm done.

3. sefranox

sefranox New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    good luck guys, these bracers are very difficult to make ! belive me, i tried and still not finished them .... :(

4. Gûd Daedheloth

Gûd Daedheloth Foe of Morgoth's Realm

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    You have any advice? Or at least what not to do? :)

5. sefranox

sefranox New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    well, no, sorry ....

i just dont know how to get these very deep "wings" into the leather, i have no idea what to use !?
    i tried a soldering iron (is that the right word ?), but it didnt work so well ...

6. Christophe of Grey

Christophe of Grey Cordwainer to Royals

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0