Signature Issue

Discussion in 'Questions' started by Crouton, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    I'm currently trying to set a Playstation Trophy card from the PSN network as my signature but this forum won't let me. The site gave me a code to use for forums and other community sites but when I try make it my sig here I get this message:

    The following errors occurred with your submission
    BB code url is not allowed.
     
  2. Running Wolf

    Running Wolf Join the Madness

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Bittersweet Hell
    Ratings:
    +254 / 0 / -0
    I'm no tech-geek whatsoever, but what I notice is that this forum works with [] this kind of code and you have <> that kind of code (which I guess is called BB code) so... either you for example upload your sig to something like photobucket and then insert it here or you try try somehow converting your code to the code we have on here.
    Does that help?
     
  3. Overread

    Overread Wolfing it up! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +648 / 3 / -1
    There is a general no links rule for signatures, I suspect this means that BB code based signature content is also be blocked under those restrictions and that would be why you're getting the "no BB code" warning when trying to enable it.
     
  4. Running Wolf

    Running Wolf Join the Madness

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Bittersweet Hell
    Ratings:
    +254 / 0 / -0
    well... my sig-pic is also contains a link (to photobucked), so it's not only that...
     
  5. Overread

    Overread Wolfing it up! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +648 / 3 / -1
    No what I mean is that signatures can't contain a clickable link in them and since BB code is often used for that it most likely comes under that same block method. There might also be other reasons for the BB code being disabled.

    Embedding (which is what your photobucket link is doing) is a separate affair.
     
  6. Kakashi

    Kakashi Call me Deacon Blues

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17,530
    Likes Received:
    419
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Can't Find My Way Home
    Ratings:
    +738 / 7 / -2
    Signature Permissions

    Allow Basic BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Color BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Size BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Font BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Alignment BB Code
    Yes
    Allow List BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Link BB Code
    Yes
    Allow HTML
    No

    Allow Image BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Video BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Code BB Code
    Yes
    Allow PHP BB Code
    Yes
    Allow HTML BB Code
    No
    Allow Quote BB Code
    Yes
    Allow Smilies
    Yes
    Can Upload Images for Signature
    Yes
    Can Upload Animated GIF for Signature
    No
     
  7. Kakashi

    Kakashi Call me Deacon Blues

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17,530
    Likes Received:
    419
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Can't Find My Way Home
    Ratings:
    +738 / 7 / -2
    i'm assuming what you're trying to do it html bb code
     
  8. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Yeah it must be that it's a link. Damn that's lame. Why would the forum block links in signatures?

    This is the code they gave me.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Oh haha. Yeah, of course it loads there, just not in the sig.
     
  10. Running Wolf

    Running Wolf Join the Madness

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Bittersweet Hell
    Ratings:
    +254 / 0 / -0
    yup, I guess it's because it's a link then.
    You could take a screenshot, make a normal jpeg banner and always update it when there's something new ;)
     
  11. JIM

    JIM zombie Turncoat

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    in the horde
    Ratings:
    +471 / 3 / -0
    yep, thats the only way i can think of, host the pic on photobucket and reg update it, the no links thing may seem silly, but it stops spammers advertising without contributing to the forum.
     
  12. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Alright thanks guys. I'll try doing that when I get home next with my computer. I'll host it on tinypic or something.
     
  13. Overread

    Overread Wolfing it up! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +648 / 3 / -1
    It's a site rule we've had for ages and like many is from a very old time on TFF. It might be something that could be revised, but with our running Admin all a bit AWOL at present some things are going to remain the way they are for a while (and I'm kind of trying to focus the admin on technical issues at present )
     
  14. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    It's cool I'll just screenshot it and update it every now and then when I get more trophies.
     
  15. JIM

    JIM zombie Turncoat

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,936
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    in the horde
    Ratings:
    +471 / 3 / -0
    i dunno mate, i'd rather not see lots of links in signatures, "buy these jesus sandles, only 49 rupees, feel the gritty sand between your toes as your camel takes you across the sahara"......
     
  16. Kelmourne

    Kelmourne The Savage Hippy

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    A Pirate city in international cyberspace
    Ratings:
    +430 / 2 / -1
  17. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    I did try that but it doesn't seem to be loading. I can only see a little square. Can anyone else see it?

    EDIT: Nevermind I got it! Thanks heaps!
     
  18. Kelmourne

    Kelmourne The Savage Hippy

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    A Pirate city in international cyberspace
    Ratings:
    +430 / 2 / -1
    And you may need to retype the code whenever your PlayStation profile gets updated because if you do it this way I don't think it will automatically update.
     
  19. Kelmourne

    Kelmourne The Savage Hippy

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    A Pirate city in international cyberspace
    Ratings:
    +430 / 2 / -1
    I can see it in your sig clearly, and there's no link either.
     
  20. Crouton

    Crouton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Yeah I fixed it after the first post. Thanks a lot for the help. I'll grab a new link everytime I want to change the image or update the trophies.