Samurai Armor

Discussion in 'General Weapons & Armour' started by Tiberius, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Tiberius

Tiberius New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hopefully I’m not breaking any rules. Does anyone know where to get Samurai Armor? If you do please PM me. Is there any plans on releasing the Red Samurai Armor that Tom Cruise wore in The Last Samurai? Thanks for any info in advance.

:dragon:

2. Cheesy Goodness

Cheesy Goodness The Fighters Guide House Member

Ratings:
    +43 / 0 / -0
    PM sent

just a bit of info...i read somewhere (possibly on this very board) that most Samuari Armor was made out of wood...is that true?

3. Mububban

Mububban Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    They used wood, metal, leather - it was amazing stuff but I'm no expert

4. jigger

jigger New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I concur but they laquered the wood and leather to make make it really hard and stronger. I have a book that goes into quite a bit of detail about the arms and armour of the samurai, incidently titled "Arms and armour of the Samurai"

5. Mububban

Mububban Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    Sounds good jigger, who's the publisher and author? I may have to have a look for it...

6. jigger

jigger New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It's by I Bottomley and A P Hopson published by Saturn Books ands its ISBN is 1-86222-002-6 also it was printed in 1996.
    jigger

7. Orkin

Orkin The Fighters Guide House Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Try Oriental Armour by H Russell Robinson and Secrets of the Samurai by Ratti. The armor was usually steel; why would they use wood?

8. hackandslash

hackandslash The Fighters Guide House Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Samurai armor was never made out of wood, there is just too many problems in that. As far as purchasing some...i agree that cruises armor does look nice but it isnt particularly acurate.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2004