Quotes

Discussion in 'Comments & Suggestions' started by Turambar, Feb 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +189 / 0 / -0
    I am pretty new around here. Most features I have figured out right now. The only problem I have is to get a propper Quote. So far, I have found a way to get the boxed section in my replies, but how do I get the "originally posted by: [name of user in Bold]" Do I have to edit this myself or is this automated?
     
  2. Boomer

    Boomer BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    It is done for you.
     
  3. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +189 / 0 / -0
    Just checking if I get it right...
     
  4. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +189 / 0 / -0
    So this is what I don't get: Your name does not appear as a refference. How do I do that? What I did so far was
    (quote)-then the quote-(/quote)

    (with "(" replaced by "[", which I evidently can't use in the example)

    and tick the box saying "quote message in reply?"

    What extra do I have to do to quote with reference?
     
  5. Boomer

    Boomer BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    I would not worry about it to much. People know where it is coming from and you should not have to quote people all that much.
     
  6. asap

    asap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Hi.

    1. You can use the ''Reply'' button (the one with the little red leaf next to it) on the bottom of the post you want to quote.
    2. You can use the code: (QUOTE=Turambar)Just checking if I get it right...(/QUOTE) when using the square brackets will appear like this:
    :)
     
  7. Boomer

    Boomer BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Thanks asap for answering the question. Much appreciated.
     
  8. asap

    asap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Anytime. :.)

    edit: Glad it helped, Turambar :.)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2004
  9. Turambar

    Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Not in Amsterdam :)
    Ratings:
    +189 / 0 / -0
    Thanks Boom and asap. Really helped me out.

    I think I got it now...
     
  10. Boomer

    Boomer BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,124
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    Question answered. Thread closed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.