Palestine & Israel

Discussion in 'Every Day Debating' started by Kakashi, Feb 28, 2011.

1. Kakashi

Kakashi The Fighters Guide House Member

Ratings:
    +306 / 0 / -0
    I'm far from an expert on the subject... and I'm sure this debate is going to get out of hand after a while :p

But I just watched 'Paradise Now', has anyone seen it. It's a Palestinian movie, so I'm sure it's a little biased. (But I live in a city with a very high demographic of Jews, so I'm sure what I hear on more day-to-day basis is biased as well.) But the movie just got to me more than ever before about how Israel is the agressor who tries to play the victim.

I also heard recently that the US vetoed a resolution that would have stopped Israel from making more settlements, which kind of upset me :p

But then again, Jewish people say that the Palestinians are just terrorists and don't deserve any sort of state of their own.

What are your thoughts? What do you think the best solution to the problem is? I'd be interested in being more educated on the subject so if you have anything to share, I'd appreciate that as well.

2. Foinikas

Foinikas Playing backgammon!

Ratings:
    +97 / 0 / -0
    Re: Palestine

Like I've said before in this forum,I think that the best solution would be for Israel to get back to the pre-1967 borders and for the international community to finally allow and help Palestine to create and normal and functioning country with a normal and legitimate army,abolishing and disbanding all the militias.

I've seen a bit of the movie I think it was after the second half or something.But I've also seen "Divine Intervention" and a lot of documentaries about the whole Palestinian problem.

USA will always veto stuff that Israel doesn't like.And I say that's kind of one-sided...

3. Turambar

Turambar Harebrained Staff Member

Ratings:
    +189 / 0 / -0