non-fiction books

Discussion in 'General Books' started by anonymous, Apr 14, 2013.

1. anonymous

anonymous the king

Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3
    so recently I started to read lots of documentaries and just general non-fiction books, (including study literature etc) like a history of universe; a brief history of time; the god is not great; selfish gene and many more.
    So what is your favorite non-fiction book; or the one you would suggest to read :p

For me it would be a selfish gene (I have basic knowledge of biology) and this book blew my mind, and made me realize how really unsignificant we are, and I really enjoyed (read a long time ago) a short history of nearly everything; lots of facts and interesting views.

2. Druid of Lûhn

Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    I haven't really read many, but mine would have to be "The Pattern on the Stone" by W. Daniel Hillis. It's a great book about computers which really is timeless.

I have also enjoyed reading "How the Mind Works" by Steven Pinker (mix of psychology, genetics and neuroscience), "The Shores of Middle-earth" by Giddings and Holland, "J.R.R. Tolkien: A Biography" by Humphrey Carpenter, "Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien" and "General Chemistry" by McQuarrie and Rock (more of a university course book though).

From that list I think that my main interests might be easy to discover.

3. anonymous

anonymous the king

Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3
    I should add like 8 books by Jeremy Clarkson - his awesome; and 2 by James May on by Richard Hammond. Needless to say I love TOP GEAR :D

and most of space/physics stuff..not sure if anyone in here has interest about them

4. Druid of Lûhn

Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    I like space/physics books.

My sister has read one Clarkson book, as well as Hammond's autobiography (about his crash). Safe to say, my siblings and I love Top Gear too.

5. anonymous

anonymous the king

Ratings:
    +115 / 2 / -3