New to Swords and the Message Board!

Discussion in 'Fantasy Weapons and Armour' started by dramag125, Dec 9, 2003.

1. dramag125

dramag125 New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    HI! I am new to sword collecting and the message board. I received my Uruk Hai Scimitar in the mail yesterday and liked it so much I decided to purchase the Ranger Sword as well. i have a couple of questions for you guys.

1. Does anyone know why the false edge on the Scimitar is not rusted while the rest of the sword is?

2. Can anyone recommend any videos or books on sword techniques to me(I know this is a board mostly for displaying but I am interested in this also)?

Im excited to be a prt of the forum and cant wait to hear back from you guys.

2. j_ertl22

j_ertl22 New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I dont know of any books, but I can tell you about the false edge. The Uruk Hai probly sharpened their swords before going into battle, exposing the non-rusted steal. The other parts of the blade would be left alone. As long as the blade was sharp for cutting down enemies in battle, they didn't care about anything else

3. swordsman

swordsman New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Welcome to the forums. The Uruk-Hai is not falsed edged it is sharpened carbon steel and also features a full tang. The edges are not rusted because it is applied after the blades is specialy treated to get the rust effect. If you would like ti to be rusted that is an easy thing to do, just apply some coca cola liberaly to the edge and leve it outside let it sit for a day or two. Mother nature will take care of the rest. After that just clen it up a bit with water and hang here up.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2003
  4. Aramir

Aramir Ranger of the North

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    did you know an iron nail dropped in enough cola to cover it will be completely broken down in around 3 days, and thats the fact that made me stop drinking it :)

5. swordsman

swordsman New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0