Names of fantasy realms

Discussion in 'General Books' started by Smaug, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Smaug

Smaug Think furnace, with wings

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hello! Before I start I apologise if this is in the wrong thread, as you can see, I'm a newbie (yay).

So I'm writing this story, influenced greatly by Tolkien's Middle-Earth/Arda. I have written a fair amount, however, I cannot think of any decent names of places within my fantasy world! The only name I have so far is Escaroth, which I don't like. I was using the realms within Middle-Earth as my guideline, as words like Rohan or Gondor sound nice, and are much easier to read and say.
    So, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas, any names you like that I can use, or what you think of Escaroth :)
    Like I said, I'm using these for inspiration etc, but I would like them to be original.

I would appreciate the help very much!

Thanks!

P.S Sorry if you find a post like this annoying, because I understand people thinking I'm not using my own imagination. I've just been stuck on this for a very long time, so I came here for help :D

2. Druid of Lûhn

Druid of Lûhn The Little Lamb.

Ratings:
    +64 / 0 / -0
    Well, if you're planning on actually having it on a different part of Arda, I can send you the names of the other continents (I have the Atlas of Middle-earth) as reference.

As to made-up names: I called a made-up world Karhwyella. I took letters and sounds that I liked and then mashed them up.
    Another technique, which Tolkien used, was to describe the place he was naming, then separate that description into key words and then use the translations of those words in old languages:
    Mor-dor = Latin for death: mor(s) ; Hebrew for place: Dor (there might be an "h"in there somewhere)

3. Eustace

Eustace The One True Tsar

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0