"Light Literature" in Fantasy

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Moonlance, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Moonlance

Moonlance New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I'm working actually in something I've never done before (besides deciding to write amateur Fantasy!), which is:

Trying to write short stories of Fantasy (at the present moment at least, more likely episodic stories all of the same universe and mostly using the same crew of characters; and not necessarly in a logical event sequence, but sometimes yes.)

I'd pretty much like to know what do you think and/or know about this plan and/or even if has experience in this kind of writing and/or if would be willing to share some ideas about it here. :D

I'm actually very excited about the new possibilities that simply opened in front of my plane of vision after I've "realised that thing was actually possible in literature", instead of writing long or so Fantasy story books (novels I think that is). I must say I was greatly inspired by the general literary concept of 'illustrated books' (I like imagery very much, being and artist too), also by contemporary Japanese concept of 'light novel' format, and also by contemporary American aspects of 'pulp magazine' format, and many other things of course (like production and creative aspects of Animation TV series).

I visioned somehow some kind of 'incredibly' handy Fantasy 'experimentalism' writing through the production of small stories; I'm still gazing at it with some sort of amazement which seems difficult to explain.

Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  2. S.J. Faerlind

S.J. Faerlind Flashlight Shadowhunter

Ratings:
    +298 / 2 / -1
    This is not a new concept. Though it isn't common in traditional publishing, it is out there: check out "Wild Cards" edited by George RR Martin as an example.
    Wizards of the Coast does something similar with their Forgotten Realms books (though the stories are generally novel-length admittedly).