leather working question

Discussion in 'Historical Re-enactment' started by urbanharlequin, Dec 17, 2003.

1. urbanharlequin

urbanharlequin Golden Marshall, 3rd Wing

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I am looking for some suggestions on books for leather working. I am interested in armour (function, not show), and etching (I don't know what it's called when you ingrave, emboss, put pretty designs on it that are not decals, permanent stuff... I think you get the point). Any clues. Pretty much I saw the stuff on LotR (Rohan armour) and I fell in love with it. So, why not spend exprbadent amounts of time and money I don't have and make some. But I don't know where to begin. I do make masks for stage use out of leather so I have some experience in tooling it (THAT'S THE TERM... TOOLING!!).
    Thanks, any help will do.

2. Christophe of Grey

Christophe of Grey Cordwainer to Royals

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Here are some sites that might help:
    http://moas.atlantia.sca.org/topics.htm
    http://www.byu.edu/ipt/projects/middleages/LifeTimes/boiled.html
    http://www.daviddfriedman.com/Medieval/Leather.html
    http://www.dagorhir.com/HowTo/cbgryml.htm
    http://www.personal.utulsa.edu/~marc-carlson/leather/hl.html - probably the best reference here
    http://www.zianet.com/egil/advice/leatherarmor.html

That should be enough web sites to get you started.

The best book I have found on how to use all those leather tooling tools is the Tandy Leather Tech Tips book at http://tandyleather.com/prodinfo.asp?number=6605600&variation=&aitem=2&mitem=43. This book shows you all the tools and how to use each one properly.