I'm new to this!

Discussion in 'Original Works' started by TheDarkFrontier, Dec 29, 2012.

1. TheDarkFrontier

TheDarkFrontier New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I'm new to this forum, so I'm not exactly sure what the regulations are for this. But here's an excerpt of the first battle scene from the first novel for a high fantasy trilogy I am currently writing. It's pretty graphic, so there's your warning :p

“I’m going to check on Ridden, I’ll be but a moment” Sanvord replied. Suddenly, there was a thin whistle through the air, and a dull thwack. A scream of pain followed as one of the archers fell from the watchtower, crashing into the ground. Sanvord’s eyes widened, drawing his sword with a feeling of perplexing excitement.

Without warning, a spear came hurtling through the air, impaling one of the men at arms into the barrel he rested against. A blood-curdling scream followed as blood gushed from the wound. A large group of cavalrymen thundered through the village, their spears raised and their swords in the air ready to strike. Without hesitation, Sanvord gripped his sword and dashed for the nearest cavalryman. The mounted trooper turned to face his attacker, raising his spear as Sanvord darted past. He thrust his sword up with incredible reflexes, into the man’s torso, penetrating his body before emerging near his back. He let out a terrific cry of pain, as warm blood dripped along the sword’s blade. Just as quickly, Sanvord retracted the blade, and the lifeless body lost its balance, falling off of the horse, thudding into the ground. All around him, the dull whack of arrows impacting wood was prevalent, as Sanvord mounted the now rider-less horse.