Help With Magic

Discussion in 'General Fantasy' started by Wonderfulhugs, Aug 3, 2016.

1. Wonderfulhugs

Wonderfulhugs Fred The Sabertooth

Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -1
    Hello everyone! I am currently working on my own series of books and I would like to make magic a large part of it. But I don't know much about the limits of magic or how magic actually works. I have read a few things and some of them contradict each other. I would like to see what fantasy lovers think about magic and how it works. Like how is it used, what are it's limits, how does it effect people and the environment? Stuff like that. If you have anything at all to say please do. I'm interested in everything you guys and gals can tell me. I'm a new writer and I want to make sure I do magic the right way in my books.

2. Firiath

Firiath Halfling barbarian

Ratings:
    +790 / 5 / -0
    I'd say if you're creating your own magic system you can basically do whatever you want - unless it becomes over-the-top or implausible in a way, if that makes sense. The system in itself has to make sense, has to be consistent, however fantastical it might be.

What could help are the following notions of 'real-life' magic (what anthropologists would call magic with regard to primitive peoples, for instance): Magic is usually a combination of theory and practice - you might be able to study magic theoretically, but it only becomes magic if carried out in an act. Those magical acts combine (at least) verbal utterances and physical acts, and sometimes also include objects that represent something else in the ritual, something related to the desired effect.