Heard of science fiction in medi/primeval settings?

Discussion in 'General Books' started by Daughter of Hell, Oct 16, 2015.

1. Daughter of Hell

Daughter of Hell damosel in distress

Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -2
    I was wondering if people know of any books which are generally solid fantasy (like A Song of Ice and Fire is), in the basic swords and castles setting or something similar, but are considered some type of science fiction?

I ask because I'm a writer and I'm writing one. I wanted to know if it's been done before, or anything similar. The general idea I had was there's no magic in it. It's just a primitive society. However, the planet's much older than Earth, so evolution has taken certain organisms in odd directions. There is, for example, viruses that turn people into giants, or such, enhancing their strength. Makes sense?

It's science fiction, because it's based on evolution and stuff, but it's a fantasy world. Seen it before? Let me know. Thanks.

2. Emerlas

Emerlas Emerz

Ratings:
    +147 / 2 / -0
    nothing like that comes to my mind
    sounds like a great concept though :D

3. Overread

Overread Wolfing it up! Staff Member

Ratings:
    +342 / 1 / -0
    Anne McCaffrey's Pern novels spring to mind. Technically science fiction because of the historical base of the setting; however much of the action plays out against a very fantasy setting with the technologies of the past creating a world which operates with elements that seem more magical to the people of that world. Heck before she passed away I've heard that she'd regularly get into "debates" regarding if her work was sci-fi or fantsay.

So it has certainly been done - that, however, doesn't mean it shouldn't be done so again :)

Heck you can get the opposite too; Starwars is a fantastic example where you've got swordplay against a very science fiction setting.