Dark Souls

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by Firiath, Sep 11, 2013.

1. Firiath

Firiath Halfling barbarian

Ratings:
    +790 / 5 / -0
    So, I just started playing Dark Souls, and now I know why my brother told me to wait until we could play together, so he could help me. I played for ten minutes and quit (to prevent a rage-quit!) and I won't touch the game again until I visit my brothers this weekend. >_>

Advice for a newbie, anyone? :p

2. Lord Yuan

Lord Yuan Death-Thousand+

Ratings:
    +162 / 0 / -0
    I am more than halfway through Dark Souls in a soul level 1 run. I am your Dark Souls god.

Ask my whatever question.

I even beat the four kings soul level 1 so I'm a darkwraith. That is the one thing I'm proud of in this world, I'm good at Dark Souls.

Editing the post with general tips:

Prioritize upgrading your weapon and then your armor, this is sometimes more important than leveling, especially weapon upgrade.

Know what weapon you want to use and use it fast, the quicker you are on the right upgrade weapon path the quicker you can take down enemies, bosses, invaders and such.

If treading on new ground, hold your shield up and walk slowly. Also dodging in combat is really good, but it is better to guard first so you know the attack pattern of the enemy.

Never attack shop keepers or blacksmiths until you are about to beat the game. If you anger them you can never use their services and the game autosaves.

I recommend a stat build with a focus on endurance for a starting player, from there you can do endurance health and then a mix of strength, dex, int, or faith depending on the weapon you decide to use. All this said, there are hardly any bad weapons or armor sets.

If you aren't using magic, use pyromancy or a crossbow, ranged weapons are super handy in many situations and a good sidearm.
    Also if you are stuck on a boss or enemy type ask me and I can give you the strategy rundown.