Chapter One

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction' started by Sabbz, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Sabbz

Sabbz pooky

Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0

^ that's all I've got :(

I understand that the first paragraph, indeed the first chapter, of a book is usually the one that determines whether or not the reader is going to remain interested.

So, my question to you all: How did you come up with your first chapter? Also, how important do you think the first chapter is?

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure where to begin my tale, which truly sucks :(

:guin:

2. Thy Fearful Symmetry

Thy Fearful Symmetry New Member

Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    (First, a warning: I'm not a professional writer, merely an enthusiastic amateur, so take everything I say with a pinch of salt.)

That being said, the best advice I could give you on how to write well is to actually write. Writing fiction isn't something that can be taught (despite what some think), but it is something that can be improved through perseverance. With experience will come the knowledge of what works and what doesn't. The more you write, the better you will become. Editing is also an important part of the process. Know when to cut things out. No matter how long and lovingly you've crafted a paragraph, page or chapter, if it doesn't seem to work (for whatever indefinable reason) then don't be afraid to excise it and start again. A good read depends as much on what you leave out as what you leave in.