Banner Help!

Discussion in 'Questions' started by Boadicea, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. Boadicea

    Boadicea Warrior Queen

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +62 / 0 / -0
    As you see, my current banner is rather small. I made it bigger, then tried to upload it from my computer. It said that it wasn't a valid image file, and wouldn't let me put it on. Another member sent me the enlarged version. I typed it in and everything, but it still ends up the same size. Anyone know why this is happening?:)
     
  2. Meteorain

    Meteorain Magical & Mystical

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,139
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +150 / 0 / -0
    Re: Banener Help!

    Do you mean your signature picture or avatar?

    You cannot upload a signature picture onto TFF...you have to upload to a hosting website and then put in the coding into your signature textbox in the user control panel. The limit is 550*175

    As for avatars, the limit is 150*150, and can be uploaded directly to TFF to be put on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2006
  3. Cascador

    Cascador Who's Anakin?

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    30,515
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +384 / 0 / -0
    Re: Banener Help!

    Did you try to use the link where my version of your image was coming from?
     
  4. Nienor

    Nienor Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,608
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Joisey
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    Re: Banener Help!

    Actually with the new upgrade you can upload an image in your sig of 500 x 100 pixels. It's smaller than the image size we allow, but it will help people who don't have a place to host images.

    The only valid image types to upload are usually .jpg, .gif. .bmp and .png. All other types are considered invalid except in image working programs.

    Gotta admit, I have no idea why your image would get shrunk though. Maybe you should try having it hosted on photobucket or imageshack. Those are free services. Or use Anakin's url for the image. I think he hosts his on photobucket.
     
  5. Cascador

    Cascador Who's Anakin?

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    30,515
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Belgium
    Ratings:
    +384 / 0 / -0
    Re: Banener Help!

    correct...feel free to use it...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Liadan

    Liadan Insert Title Here

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    14,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +124 / 0 / -0
    @ Boadicea: If it's a png, it might have shrunk. For some reason, if I try to host png files, it shrinks, so I have to switch to jpg when hosting images.
     
  7. Boadicea

    Boadicea Warrior Queen

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +62 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the help, guys! It's 1 AM, so I don't really get what all you're saying right now, but I think it'll make sense in the morning. ;) Anyway, thanks again.
     
  8. Nienor

    Nienor Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,608
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Joisey
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0 / -0
    Remember to get a strong cup of coffee before reading the forum. :D
     
  9. Boadicea

    Boadicea Warrior Queen

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +62 / 0 / -0
    Ok, I'm wired on caffiene now, but no more computer savvy than I was. :D

    I tried using Anakin's url (thanks again), but now it says, "remote file is too large". Does anyone know what I should do? Sorry, the solution is probably totally obvious to most of you, but I'm technologically impaired, lol.