Arthur: Fact or Fiction?

Discussion in 'Medieval Boards' started by Lady_of_Shalott, Dec 30, 2003.

1. Lady_of_Shalott

Lady_of_Shalott Weaving the Magic Web

Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    We really neeed to revive this board a bit.
    So, let's discuss the man himself, King Arthur. I know it has been determined that he was probably just a real man WAY back in the day and was blown to mammoth proportions over the years. But, so many places have myths about him and such. What do you think?

2. reem

reem Slaps forehead "Doh!"

Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Well, I haven't read alot of literature on him, but from what I do know, I think that he was just a very charismatic and influential man in his day, and like you said, he was blown way out of proportion with the years.
    Just because there are alot of myths about him doesn't mean that they were true, it just means that they were popular and widespread...or so I believe:) But I am by no means an expert:p;)
    reem

3. Radagast

Radagast Art House Member

Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    I saw an interesting documentary on him a week ago (history channel). I do believe many aspects of his tale is enlarged, but the basics are probably true. He probably did have an elderly man who helped guide him, perhaps not a wizard, but most probable an old man. He did probably have a magnificent sword, and he probabley was very skilled at using it. Great knights from all over probably did serve him, and was most likely very great.

People just like to spicen things up when they tell stories, and over time it became a little more fantasy related than historical related.

4. Lady_of_Shalott

Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    I have to agree, but I never really considered the fact that Merlin could be based on a real person. Very interesting.... Something more to ponder. What was the documentary called? If it's on again I'd like to see it.

5. Radagast

Radagast Art House Member

Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0