Armor Effectiveness

Discussion in 'General Weapons & Armour' started by sinfulwolf, Feb 17, 2009.

1. sinfulwolf

sinfulwolf New Member

Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    I'm no expert, so I'm asking for help. What are the pros/cons of various armor types? Whats the advantage of leather over mail, plate over scale? If anybody knows could you please let me know?

2. Mububban

Mububban Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    Armour is always a tradeoff between flexibility, weight and protection. That and of course, who you are fighting, and what weapon/s they are using. Plus other slightly lesser considerations such as heat, visibility and comfort.

Squishy extreme - cloth padding. Very flexible, light weight and comfortable but on its own, not much protection.

Middle ground - mail/maille (chain mail is a modern term, not a historical one). Flexible but somewhat heavy, and protects against a slice but not a crushing blow. Plus all those little holes between the rings can be breached by needle bodkin arrows or poinards.

Stiff extreme - plate armour gives awesome protection, but is heaviest, and some of those big helms have very limited visibility and would be hot as hell. Flexibility is surprisingly good though, I've seen someone in full plate doing cartwheels so it should NOT be uber-inflexible. But seeing as your head/neck movement would be compromised by your visibility, you'd tend to move a bit robotically anyway. Helm style would be a major factor, either slit visored or open faced.

Combine mail or plate with padding, and you've got greater comfort and impact absorbency for hardly any extra weight. Hotter though. There's always a downside.

Think of a WW2 tank vs a boxer for another extreme analogy. The tank can take a serious pounding but is slow and heavy, its movements are somewhat limited re terrain, and visibility ain't that great.

A boxer is light, agile, fast but can't take many blows from a sword :D